Story and missions

bateau

Selva Viva’s missions

The Selva Viva is a boat concieved to be multi-purpose oriented for the reason it was initially destinated to serve in priority the development projects, from our organization or from others.

It has been since rearranged for the cruises proposed by Latitud Sur and which help financing these projects.

Two missions based on the Selva Viva are currently operated :

Medical Brigades

This programme aims to get better health conditions for the populations in vulnerability situation, offering a mid-term service in basic health, in dentistery and ophtalmology. Workshops of hygiene sensibilization are also organized. These brigades benefit to the communities settled all along the rivers of the Amazonian region of Loreto in Peru, which means several thousands of persons.

The programme, proposed by Arutam and Latitud Sur, with the Red Cross and Health Ministry’s technical support, is currently necessary due to the distances of these communities and the difficulties to access government health care services.

In this context, the Selva Viva allows more easily to reach them (navigation in this region still remains the most evident). These Brigades, constituted of volunteer physicians, locals or strangers, bring the opportunity, beyond the health campaigns themselves, to get a general diagnostic of these beneficiary communities’ health status.
For more information or to participate…

« Selva Viva for biodiversity» program

This programme contributes to obtain better life conditions for the indigenous communities all along the rivers of Loreto region. To reach that, the program intends to help local populations to better conserve and manage their biodiversity in a sustainable way, generating new revenues. It acts then on four topics :

  1. rainforest management : exchange of good practices
  2. medicinal plants : exchange of knowledge
  3. agroforestry : sustainable cultures & opportunities evaluation for rainforest issued products
  4. solidarity tourism : integration of new communauties in our circuits

Thanks to the « Selva Viva », then transformed in a school-boat or research-boat during or apart from tourism activities, the projet focuses on learning and exchange of knowledges in the four further mentionned domains. It benefits to some 300 000 individuals spread over the Northern part of Amazonia, from Colombia to Brazil and from Ecuador to Peru.

Participate to Latitud Sur’s cruises, and you will help directly to the success of these projects.

Subscribe me

Visit Us On FacebookVisit Us On Twitter

Histoire et missions

bateau

Les missions du Selva Viva

Le Selva Viva est un bateau conçu pour être multi-usage car destiné initialement à servir en priorité les projets de développement, de notre organisation ou d’autres.

Il a été depuis aménagé pour les croisières proposées par Latitud Sur et qui servent à financer ces programmes.

Plusieurs missions impliquant le Selva Viva sont aujourd’hui à l’œuvre :

Les Brigades Médicales

Ce programme vise à contribuer à l’amélioration des conditions de santé des populations en situation de vulnérabilité, en offrant un service de moyen terme en santé basique, dentaire et ophtalmologique. Des ateliers de sensibilisation à l’hygiène sont aussi organisés. Ces brigades bénéficient aux communautés établies le long de fleuves de la région amazonienne de Loreto au Pérou, soit plusieurs milliers d’individus.

Ce programme, proposé par Arutam et Latitud Sur, avec l’appui de la Croix-Rouge et du Ministère de la Santé, est rendu nécessaire par l’éloignement de ces populations et les difficultés d’accès aux soins de santé du gouvernement.

En cela, le Selva Viva permet plus facilement d’aller à leur rencontre (la navigation dans cette région reste le moyen d’accès le plus évident). Ces Brigades, composées de médecins volontaires, locaux et étrangers, permettent de réaliser, au-delà des campagnes de soin, un diagnostique général de l’état de santé des communautés bénéficiaires.
Pour plus de renseignements ou pour y participer…

Le projet « Selva Viva » pour la biodiversité

Ce programme contribue à l’amélioration des conditions de vie des communautés indigènes le long des fleuves de la région du Loreto. Pour cela, il permet à ces populations de mieux conserver et gérer leur biodiversité de manière durable pour en tirer des revenus. Il agit ainsi sur quatre axes :

  1. la gestion des forêts : échanges sur les bonnes pratiques
  2. les plantes médicinales : échanges de connaissances
  3. agroforesterie : cultures durables & évaluation d’opportunités pour des produits issus de la forêt
  4. tourisme solidaire : intégration de nouvelles communautés dans nos circuits

Via le « Selva Viva », alors transformé en bateau-école ou bateau-recherche lors ou en dehors de ses activités de tourisme, le projet se focalise sur l’apprentissage et l’échange des savoirs dans ces quatre domaines. Il bénéficie à quelques 300 000 individus répartis sur la partie Nord de l’Amazonie, de la Colombie au Brésil en passant par l’Equateur et le Pérou.

En participant aux croisières Latitud Sur, vous concourez directement au développement de ces projets.

M'abonner

Visit Us On FacebookVisit Us On Twitter